Guest views are now limited to 12 pages. If you get an "Error" message, just sign in! If you need to create an account, click here.

• CRYPTO REWARDS!

Full endorsement on this opportunity - but it's limited, so get in while you can!

Dinar in circulation

cooked

Can anyone find the "true" amount of dinar in circulation before Sadam started printing more as reported by some? I am not very good at digging up this stuff but know we have some who are excellent at this. I would just like to see how much was in circulation in 2003 vs now, just to get an idea of how much of a role overprinting may have to do with the decreased value of the dinar. I find it hard to believe they printed 1000 times the amount that was in circulation, since that seems to be the approximate percent that the dinar is devalued. Can someone help me put these numbers in perspective? Thanks for your help.

http://www.cbi.iq/documents/key%20financial.xls

Look at line 79....currency outside banks....it only goes back to 2002.....

They had over 2 trillion dinar in circulation before we invaded.....in 2003 it had jumped to over 4 trillion.....

http://www.cbi.iq/do...20financial.xls

Look at line 79....currency outside banks....it only goes back to 2002.....

They had over 2 trillion dinar in circulation before we invaded.....in 2003 it had jumped to over 4 trillion.....

But just remember that as the amount in circulation grew, so did the amount in reserves which is why we didnt see it drop more.....

• Upvote 2

So how did it jump 27 or so that is said to be out? Did they keep printing or what?

If you follow the line all the way over through the years you can basically watch it jump up year after year gradually till what it is today.

They apparently did just keep printing. With a lower value you would need more of it to buy the same things and then I also do believe that as an economy grows, its money supply will also grow naturally....