Guest views are now limited to 12 pages. If you get an "Error" message, just sign in! If you need to create an account, click here.

• CRYPTO REWARDS!

Full endorsement on this opportunity - but it's limited, so get in while you can!

I-Bond vs CD

I want the best interest rate but at the same time ease of adding more money to it time to time. I don't want to make it a hassle to get more money into it. My credit union has one of those coin change counters too which is helpful since that is the money we save up for her is the loose change. Wells Fargo no longer carries these, at least not in my area. My credit union has a 30 month CD rate at 3.00% but a rep at Wells Fargo told me something about I-bonds which I have no knowledge of.

Looking for options. I have about $300 to start out her account in and we want the best interest rate with low risk.

I want the best interest rate but at the same time ease of adding more money to it time to time. I don't want to make it a hassle to get more money into it. My credit union has one of those coin change counters too which is helpful since that is the money we save up for her is the loose change. Wells Fargo no longer carries these, at least not in my area. My credit union has a 30 month CD rate at 3.00% but a rep at Wells Fargo told me something about I-bonds which I have no knowledge of.

Looking for options. I have about $300 to start out her account in and we want the best interest rate with low risk.

Hi Munsch :)

There are several options to choose from, based upon

your risk tolerance. You mentioned you want best interest

rate with low risk, then perhaps the I bonds would better suit

your need at present. The 30 month CD @ 3% in my opinion is

an insult, but banks are not offering much, they just want your money.

If this is the start of a long term plan for your little girl, I suggest the I bond

route. The securities are protected against inflationary changes while they