Guest views are now limited to 12 pages. If you get an "Error" message, just sign in! If you need to create an account, click here.

• CRYPTO REWARDS!

Full endorsement on this opportunity - but it's limited, so get in while you can!

Biden is "considering" using a constitutional mechanism to avoid America's default

13403.jpg

Arab and international

Economy News / Baghdad
US President Joe Biden announced Sunday that he is studying the possibility of resorting to a constitutional mechanism to avoid defaulting the United States, as talks with Republicans stalled over raising the debt ceiling.

"I can't guarantee they won't fabricate a default by doing something outrageous," Biden said at the G7 summit in Hiroshima, stressing, "I'm studying Article 14 (of the US Constitution) to see if we have (...) legal authority" to bypass Congress.

US President Joe Biden confirmed Sunday that Republican proposals on the US debt ceiling are "unacceptable", according to Agence France-Presse.

Market PulseEconomyFind out the most important upcoming economic events this week

"Now is the time for the other side to abandon its extreme positions, because so much of what they have proposed so far is simply and quite frankly unacceptable," Biden told reporters at the G7 summit in Japan.

Views 57
Added 05/21/2023 - 3:20 PM
  • Thanks 1

The 14th Amendment and the Debt Ceiling Explained

Hip Hughes

25,935 views  Oct 10, 2013  The Constitution Explained
My teacher stab at explaining the argument for the 14th amendment being used in relationship to the Debt Ceiling.  "An educated citizenry is a vital requisite for our survival as a free people." ~Thomas Jefferson

Seneca Brahe
9 years ago