Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Inserting images in your posts


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1 Maynard57

Maynard57

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,100 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 06:46 AM

I've made a couple of unsuccessful attempts to insert images into a few of my posts and I'm just not sure how people do it on this site.

Using the expanded editor, there is an insert image icon, obviously. When I hit that button the dialog box asks for an url "http://" I was hoping I could use a .jpg on my own computer and upload it into my post. If that is possible, I would be grateful if someone could clue me in.

Thanx,

Maynard
  • 0

#2 MrRich

MrRich

    Senior Member

  • Banned
  • 1,418 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK

Posted 26 August 2010 - 06:53 AM

I've made a couple of unsuccessful attempts to insert images into a few of my posts and I'm just not sure how people do it on this site.

Using the expanded editor, there is an insert image icon, obviously. When I hit that button the dialog box asks for an url "http://" I was hoping I could use a .jpg on my own computer and upload it into my post. If that is possible, I would be grateful if someone could clue me in.

Thanx,

Maynard


I think you'll have to upload an image to a certain site and then put the image location in the URL field when you use the Insert Image button. You can't just upload to this site. There are websites where you can upload the image for free. Good luck.
  • 0

#3 Maynard57

Maynard57

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,100 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 07:01 AM

I think you'll have to upload an image to a certain site and then put the image location in the URL field when you use the Insert Image button. You can't just upload to this site. There are websites where you can upload the image for free. Good luck.


See, that's what got me confused, Scooby Doo. You can upload images for your avatar, it just seems to be more limited if you intend to put it into a post. I'll take your suggestion, however, and have a go at it. Thanks.

Maynard
  • 0

#4 Traconesu02

Traconesu02

    Senior Member Dinar-ified

  • Members
  • 3,458 posts
  • LocationQuad Cities

Posted 26 August 2010 - 07:09 AM

Maynard57 - The reason they are using a link instead of uploading would be to save memory on their server.
The avatars are restricted to very small size files for this same reason.

Even if they were to allow small pictures such as the avatars - could you image the amount of memory it would take in each of the posts.
And then how some people click on the reply button instead of Adding a Reply those images would have to be duplicated again in the post.
Links take up no more memory than text.

Anyway that is why. Join photobucket - facebook or similiar sites and it works fine.

Edited by Traconesu02, 26 August 2010 - 07:12 AM.

  • 0
:)

#5 Maynard57

Maynard57

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,100 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 03:51 PM

Thanks, both of you guys. This site works a little different, but it makes sense.

Maynard
  • 0

#6 Maynard57

Maynard57

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,100 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 04:11 PM

So, how's this?


Posted Image

NEver mind. I don't get it. I'm selling all my dinar and giving up.
  • 0

#7 Doc31

Doc31

    Dinarified Senior Member

  • Members
  • 4,656 posts
  • LocationS W Florida


Posted 26 August 2010 - 04:18 PM

So, how's this?


Posted Image

NEver mind. I don't get it. I'm selling all my dinar and giving up.


Too funny ... I've had the same problem ... I don't do facebook, etc and haven't used photobucket because I have other web alternatives of my own. Uploading an html file to be able to show a pic though or joining another site to post pics ... please.

Thanks Maynard57 I was thinking it too!



Edited by Doc31, 26 August 2010 - 04:18 PM.

  • 1

#8 MrRich

MrRich

    Senior Member

  • Banned
  • 1,418 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK

Posted 26 August 2010 - 04:27 PM

Is this what you're trying to do?

Posted Image
  • 0

#9 Maynard57

Maynard57

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,100 posts

Posted 26 August 2010 - 07:37 PM

Is this what you're trying to do?

Posted Image


SHow off. Just kidding.

THis was the pic. I thought it was pretty funny. So, Scooby Doo, how come in worked for you and I get html?
  • 0

#10 MrRich

MrRich

    Senior Member

  • Banned
  • 1,418 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK

Posted 26 August 2010 - 08:36 PM

SHow off. Just kidding.

THis was the pic. I thought it was pretty funny. So, Scooby Doo, how come in worked for you and I get html?


Sorry, dude. I don't know. The only difference I see is that you typed < IMG > instead of < img > but I tested your code and it worked for me. In the IT world we usually blame stuff like this on gremlins. Tommorow's lesson ... inserting JavaScript into your HTML code. ;)
  • 0

#11 Munsch

Munsch

    Moderator (from Law and Order)

  • Platinum VIP
  • 2,359 posts


Posted 26 August 2010 - 10:55 PM

SHow off. Just kidding.

THis was the pic. I thought it was pretty funny. So, Scooby Doo, how come in worked for you and I get html?



When I look at your source code of the post it seems you duplicated the insert image twice because it had img IMG in the beginging and img img at the end. That and like Scooby Doo said sometimes code can be case sensitive. It is one of those two things or the mixture of both.
  • 0
A very wise co-worker of mine use to help me with some angry emails towards my ex-boss ... here is what he basically said and I hope it helps with others:<br /><br /><b>Write what you need to get off your mind in a post or reply ... Re-read what you just wrote and think about it ... <u>then Hit the <font color="#FF0000">CANCEL</font> button</u></b>

#12 Scooter

Scooter

    Breathing and Loving Life

  • Banned
  • 384 posts
  • LocationGlendale, AZ

Posted 27 August 2010 - 12:52 AM

Maynard57,

That's exactly what I do on all of mine ---- I have a huge Photobucket and created an album specifically for the Dinar Research. When I post to the multiple sites, it gives me all the stats, who, what, when, and where. If you like, we could set up a time and do a GoTo Meeting and I could show you how. Once you view it done once, you're all gold!!!!!

Just let me know and I'll set up the meeting time --- should only take 15 minutes.

Have a great evening,

Scooter
  • 1

#13 Inside Track

Inside Track

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 438 posts

Posted 27 August 2010 - 05:42 AM

Maynard57,

That's exactly what I do on all of mine ---- I have a huge Photobucket and created an album specifically for the Dinar Research. When I post to the multiple sites, it gives me all the stats, who, what, when, and where. If you like, we could set up a time and do a GoTo Meeting and I could show you how. Once you view it done once, you're all gold!!!!!

Just let me know and I'll set up the meeting time --- should only take 15 minutes.

Have a great evening,

Scooter

Scooter....Sensational MAP!!! Was wondering how you uploaded the graphic!!!
This is a Smilin on Google...Can you see it?? I can't!!!
<a href="http://www.sweetim.c...lpver=3&ref=11" target="_blank"><img src="http://cdn.content.s...s/000203FC.gif" border="0" title="Click to get more." ></a>

Edited by Inside Track, 27 August 2010 - 05:43 AM.

  • 0

#14 Maynard57

Maynard57

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,100 posts

Posted 27 August 2010 - 06:48 AM

Thanks all you guys. I'll try these ideas when the weekend comes. I suppose I could also consult one of my kids on this, but I didn't make an appointment to see either one of them. :)

When we have the post-RV bash, the ludefisk is on me!

Maynard
  • 0

#15 Traconesu02

Traconesu02

    Senior Member Dinar-ified

  • Members
  • 3,458 posts
  • LocationQuad Cities

Posted 27 August 2010 - 07:24 AM

Scooter....Sensational MAP!!! Was wondering how you uploaded the graphic!!!
This is a Smilin on Google...Can you see it?? I can't!!!
<a href="http://www.sweetim.c...lpver=3&ref=11" target="_blank"><img src="http://cdn.content.s...s/000203FC.gif" border="0" title="Click to get more." ></a>



I took your http address and pasted it into the insert link icon that is above your reply or post box.

Posted ImageYour link

Scooter....Sensational MAP!!! Was wondering how you uploaded the graphic!!!
This is a Smilin on Google...Can you see it?? I can't!!!
<a href="http://www.sweetim.c...lpver=3&ref=11" target="_blank"><img src="http://cdn.content.s...s/000203FC.gif" border="0" title="Click to get more." ></a>



If you just want to display the picture but not the link then click the insert image and just paste in this part of the code above that is shown below without using the first and last quotes shown:

"http://cdn.content.s...s/000203FC.gif" border="0""

Posted Image
  • 0
:)

#16 Traconesu02

Traconesu02

    Senior Member Dinar-ified

  • Members
  • 3,458 posts
  • LocationQuad Cities

Posted 27 August 2010 - 07:58 AM

Scooter....Sensational MAP!!! Was wondering how you uploaded the graphic!!!
This is a Smilin on Google...Can you see it?? I can't!!!
<a href="http://www.sweetim.c...lpver=3&ref=11" target="_blank"><img src="http://cdn.content.s...s/000203FC.gif" border="0" title="Click to get more." ></a>


So what you need to insert an image is the image code from your site which will begin with:
an open bracket [ then followed by IMG that followed by a close bracket ] that followed by the http address along with the name of the image,
all this followed by another open bracket [ which is followed by a / which is followed by IMG and that followed by a closed bracket ]
pasted into the the body of your letter.

If I display the actual text then I will just get another image to appear, not really as complicated as it looks though.



Posted Image


I hope this helps some.

Posted Image

Edited by Traconesu02, 27 August 2010 - 07:56 AM.

  • 0
:)

#17 Traconesu02

Traconesu02

    Senior Member Dinar-ified

  • Members
  • 3,458 posts
  • LocationQuad Cities

Posted 27 August 2010 - 08:08 AM

Using photobucket just select the image that you wish to share and when you see this share box appear on the left of the screen click on image code one time and it will copy to the clipboard.

Posted Image


Then click in your body of your post or reply where you wish to display the image and while holding down the control key press the V key to paste the code into your letter.
  • 0
:)

#18 Traconesu02

Traconesu02

    Senior Member Dinar-ified

  • Members
  • 3,458 posts
  • LocationQuad Cities

Posted 27 August 2010 - 09:21 AM

Click on the link below to watch a short movie about pasting an image into your post using photobucket.



http://s985.photobuc...tinganImage.mp4
  • 1
:)

#19 Scooter

Scooter

    Breathing and Loving Life

  • Banned
  • 384 posts
  • LocationGlendale, AZ

Posted 28 August 2010 - 12:53 AM

Inside Track,

Thanks! I forgot to mention this method, particularly from news sites. Essentially, when your at the website where the graphic resides, put your mouse on the image and click mouse right. You'll be asked to copy or save the "IMAGE LOCATION" OR "IMAGE LINK". Click one of those and paste that link inside DinarVets "IMAGE" command --- Works like a charm!!!! Something like the CBI Graphics:


Posted Image


Additionally, I use a product called "Snag-It" V10.0 if I want to consolidate multiple images together.


I hope this helps and don't hesitate to ping me if there are additional questions.


Best regards,


Scooter








Scooter....Sensational MAP!!! Was wondering how you uploaded the graphic!!!
This is a Smilin on Google...Can you see it?? I can't!!!
<a href="http://www.sweetim.c...lpver=3&ref=11" target="_blank"><img src="http://cdn.content.s...s/000203FC.gif" border="0" title="Click to get more." ></a>


  • 0

#20 Inside Track

Inside Track

    Senior Member

  • Members
  • 438 posts

Posted 28 August 2010 - 09:22 AM

Scooter, You're... Posted Image
Thanks A Million (Dinar)!!! Keep the flow of critical information coming!
God Bless


Inside Track,

Thanks! I forgot to mention this method, particularly from news sites. Essentially, when your at the website where the graphic resides, put your mouse on the image and click mouse right. You'll be asked to copy or save the "IMAGE LOCATION" OR "IMAGE LINK". Click one of those and paste that link inside DinarVets "IMAGE" command --- Works like a charm!!!! Something like the CBI Graphics:


Posted Image


Additionally, I use a product called "Snag-It" V10.0 if I want to consolidate multiple images together.


I hope this helps and don't hesitate to ping me if there are additional questions.


Best regards,


Scooter


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

  • Privacy Policy